ICOM National Committee Armenia

All news

July 18, 2021

ICOM Armenia has a new President and Board

According to the statutes of ICOM Armenia, the members of the organization elect a new president and board every three years.

On July 8, 2021 the members of the ICOM museum community made their choice during an annual GA held at the Khachatur Abovyan House-Museum.

The announcement about the election and nomination procedure was published on the official website months ago. The elections were held by secret ballot. The members of the Counting Commission presented the results of the elections, according to which 66 out of 104 individual և 6 institutional members of the ICOM National Committee of Armenian Museums voted.

The following members are now representing the  ICOM Armenia Board for 2021-2024:

President: Hayk Mkrtchyan

Director: Marine Haroyan (co-opted)

Board members:

Tat Saroyan

Suzanna Khojamiryan

Ovsanna Harutyunyan

Vahagn Ghukasyan

David Poghosyan

Lena Misakyan

Ani Nazaryan

Marianna Manucharyan

Arusyak Ghazaryan


Taking into account that there was no candidate nominated for the position of director, at the suggestion of the president, the meeting reaffirmed Marine Haroyan as the director of the organization.

Congratulations to Hayk Mkrtchyan, the new Chairman of the ICOM National Committee of Armenian Museums, and the members of the Executive Board for being elected to this responsible positions for 2021-2024 ․ This group of experienced specialists in the field of museums will fulfill their public duty to the museum community. ”

Special gratitude id addressed to the ICOM Armenia Board members for 2017-2021 under the leadership of President Ani Avagyan for the work done.